Services like Uber and Lyft have revolutionized public transportation and given consumers an alternative choice from busses, trains, and taxis to personal drivers. Lyft and Uber drivers are not employees of the company. They work as freelancers. Therefore, the question of whether or not you can sue them after an accident becomes more complicated.
Is Uber or Lyft Responsible?
Because these drivers don't work for Uber and Lyft, if you were hit by an Uber or Lyft driver or in a car when they got into an accident, the driver's insurance company would most likely be the one to pay for your injuries and any damages. Florida has “no-fault” laws when it comes to car accidents. Therefore, rules like “vicarious liability” may prevent you from suing Uber or Lyft in this case. However, both companies do have insurance for these types of situations. Although you
may not be able to sue them directly, you could obtain compensation for your injuries with the help of your attorney.
What About Uber and Lyft's Insurance Policies?
Lyft and Uber require that each of their drivers carry insurance to cover any accidents. However, both companies also have their own $1 million policies to supplement injury expenses for passengers, pedestrians, cyclists, and other drivers after an accident. While drivers are “on duty” but without a passenger in the car, Lyft and Uber insurance policies may cover $100,000 per accident and $50,000 per person for injuries after a car crash.
Once the driver picks up a passenger, the $1 million policy kicks in to cover passengers, bicyclists, pedestrians, and other drivers if they get into an accident.
Is There a Situation Where You Can Sue Lyft or Uber After an Accident?
If you suffer a serious accident that involves a Lyft or Uber driver, you may have some recourse. If you are injured permanently and endure ongoing pain and
suffering or someone you love is killed in a car accident, you may be able to sue. In Florida, you can sue only in certain circumstances. One stipulation is that your injuries must cost $10,000 or more. Another rule of thumb is your injuries must be permanent and severe enough to affect bodily function or disfigurement. In that case, you may be able to sue Uber or Lyft for damages beyond what their insurance company may offer. Florida law requires that any lawsuits be filed within four years of the date of the accident.
How to Proceed
Before making any decision, you should consult your personal injury lawyer to get an opinion. We can help you decide if a lawsuit is feasible and get you exactly what you deserve. Call today for your free consultation.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment