How Does Pip Affect My Case?
Florida is one of a handful of states which have mandatory PIP coverage, or personal injury protection. This is referred to as “No-Fault”, as your fault for an accident has no bearing on how PIP pays out for an accident involving a motor vehicle. Even if you are not at fault, your own PIP insurance provides payment for your initial covered medical expenses. PIP coverage provides for $10,000 that goes towards your medical bills for injuries sustained in an accident.
If you are involved in a car crash, contact a south Florida injury attorney to help navigate the process. The steps taken to recover the PIP Benefits from your insurance company is done through your medical providers. They will bill for the treatment rendered, and your insurance company will send them payment directly. If these PIP benefits are denied or reduced, medical providers can reach out to the Leaser Law Firm to help recover what is rightfully owed. We challenge underpayment of medical bills to injury doctors throughout the state of Florida.
Your attorney should be able to explain how PIP benefits affect your case, and the steps necessary to make sure your medical providers are able to recover those benefits for you. If PIP benefits are denied in your case, you may end up owing additional medical expenses. This can materially affect the amount of money you are able to take home after your injury. If you have been injured in a car accident, contact Leaser Law Firm to learn your rights and obligations under your insurance policy.
We Help Recover Unpaid Pip Benefits
PIP is a creature of statute that is governed under Fla. Stat. 627.736. This provides a floor of what is required to be covered by insurance companies. The policy of insurance is the second step in evaluating whether PIP benefits were lawfully paid. There is a tremendous amount of litigation in Florida that is built on interpreting this statute and the various policies of insurance in Florida.
Below is a basic PIP question checklist for every injury that somehow involves a motor vehicle:
- Was medical treatment rendered within 14 days of the accident?
- Does the patient own a motor vehicle?
- Does the patient live with a relative who owns a motor vehicle?
Florida added a requirement to recover the full $10,000 in medical expenses with a $2,500 cap without being diagnosed with an “Emergency Medical Condition” or EMC. Florida defined EMC as “a medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, which may include severe pain, such that the absence of immediate attention would be reasonably expected to result in any of the following:
- serious jeopardy to the patient’s health
- serious impairment to bodily function
- serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.
This should be done by the treating physician, or a doctor who is experience in evaluating patients for this diagnoses. It is imperative that the patient is evaluated for an EMC, as it releases an additional $7,500 in medical expenses for the patient. If an EMC was not done initially, it can still be done in the future.
If you are having difficulty recovering PIP Benefits or receiving denials and/or underpayments, contact PIP attorney Scott Leaser to help you recover what is owed. Scott has years of experience litigating PIP cases in Florida and is always happy to help with questions or billing practices that will help you capture what you are lawfully owed. Help is just a phone call away. Let Scott help get the results you deserve.